New Pennsylvania Massage License Renewal Information for 2019

Your massage license expires January 31, 2019. Are you prepared? Take your massage therapy continuing education classes with gotyourback!

PA Massage License Renewal Requirements:
Valid Adult CPR Certification
24 Hours of Continuing Education
16 of the 24 must be live “in-class” hours
8 of the 24 can be obtained on-line
4 must be in ethics, 2 must be in Child Abuse

If this is the first time renewing your license you will need to obtain 3 CE's in Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting

For those renewing their license this year you can take all 8 online CE's with gotyourbacku for only $50.
Register Here

CPR Requirements
You must have a valid CPR certification in Adult CPR and AED. CPR certifications are good for 2 years and they must be obtained in a live classroom. On-line CPR courses will not be accepted. CPR courses do not count toward the required 24

The PA licensing board excepts CPR certifications from the following organizations
American Heart Association
American Red Cross
American Safety & Health Institute (ASHI)
EMS Safety Services

Ways to renew your license

On-line (recommended)

Renew Here

If you are renewing your license for the first time you will need the following information:

Registration Code – the registration code can be found on the renewal notice received from the PA Massage Therapy Board. The board mails renewal forms
Last name as it appears on your renewal notice


If this is your second time renewing and have a user id and password, you can log in directly here:

If you have misplaced your User ID and/or Password, you can register again. The Login page allows you to login if you have accessed the site before.

Renewal or Registration by mail
Links to all necessary forms can be found here:                                                             


Information for students who graduated in 2016
If you graduated from a massage therapy program in 2016, you may request a waiver of
all or part of the continuing education requirement by submitting in writing, a signed/dated letter to the Board requesting this waiver, along with proof that the licensee graduated in 2016.
Please refer to the
notice on the Board’s website.

Waivers should be mailed to:                

The State Board of Massage Therapy
PO Box 2649
Harrisburg PA 17105

Information for New Applicants
All you need to know about PA 
Rules and Regulations for licensing including education requirements, which application for licensure is right for you, required knowledge base, scope of practice, forms and more!

The Board accepts the following exams for Licensure:
The NCETMB and the MBLEx

Schedule for the NCETMB at the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or call 1-800-296-3926

Schedule for the MBLEx at the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards or call 1-866-962-3926

You can read the entire law here:

Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Online Course - 2 CE Hours
Price: $19.95
Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Online Course - 2 CE Hours
This 2 CE course is required for Pennsylvania LMT's to take at every renewal period. This course is approved by the PA Department of State. You will receive your login credentials after your order has been processed. Please view desktop version for more.
tax free